Cops' Cop

The Cops’ Cop Award program was developed in 1994 by the DPA to honor Dallas’ finest for their outstanding service to the community, both on and off duty. This monthly award is given to officers who have displayed the integrity, skill and talent that make them some of the best law enforcement personnel in the city.

Being named a monthly Cops’ Cop is a true honor because fellow officers, who see firsthand how these men and women in blue truly make a difference in the community, conduct the nomination and selection process. Every year, the twelve monthly winners are recognized at our prestigious Cops’ Cop Banquet, where one is selected as Cops’ Cop for that year.

Cops' Cop Winner Feb 2023

Senior Corporal Carlos Guzman, Jr., #7407, is our February Cops’ Cop winner. Guzman has been assigned to the Northeast Division for the last 20 years, and works covert surveillance with the Project Safe Neighborhood Taskforce. He is regarded highly in his unit as an exemplary teammate with consistent discipline, street smarts and overall work ethics.

Senior Corporal Guzman continues to be an integral part of countless operations leading to the arrests of violent criminals. He always impresses with his calm and collected nature which seems to resonate to the rest of his unit, resulting in focused and successful operations. For his vital roles during such investigations, Guzman has been awarded numerous Certificates of Merit, police commendations and several letters of appreciation from the FBI.

Besides his surveillance work with PSN, Guzman is also known for his mechanical skills within the unit. He is repeatedly relied on to update the maintenance reports for covert vehicles at the station and provide “roadside assistance” on the streets. He is a valued team member in uniform and out: he is a devoted husband, a proud Marine father and loving grandfather.


  • 1994 – Finnis H. Smith
  • 1995 – Dennis G. Duesman
  • 1996 – Rector McCollum
  • 1997 – Rick Kirk
  • 1998 – James “J.J.” Kalash
  • 1999 – Debra “Debbie” Easton
  • 2000 – Robert “Scotty” Holt
  • 2001 – Michael “Mike” Marshall
  • 2002 – Kevin Janse
  • 2003 – Julie A. Cassidy
  • 2004 – Lance T. Crawford
  • 2005 – Judy E. Fries
  • 2006 – Roger A. Rudloff
  • 2007 – Robert Hinojo
  • 2008 – Christopher E. Allen
  • 2009 – Michael F. Miller
  • 2010 – Thomas B. Popken
  • 2011 – Peter W. Malik
  • 2012 – Christopher M. Wagner
  • 2013 – Herbert Ebsen
  • 2014 – J. D. Byas
  • 2015 – Vanessa Berry
  • 2016 – Frank “Timbo” Duncan
  • 2017 – Jeff Jacobs
  • 2018 – Meagan Mulvihill
  • 2019 – Brandon Dye
  • 2020 – Steve Shivers
  • 2021 – Mark Bacon


Copyright © Dallas Police Association
Website built and maintained by NEP Services